Saturday, July 30, 2011

100 Followers!!


congrats 

Thank you for following me, Dear Readers! I now have ONE HUNDRED FOLLOWERS!!!  Through Blog Hops and just happening upon my blog, you all have made me so happy :)  Perhaps we can have a Giveaway for 200 followers (tell your friends)!
                                                                                                                                        Thanks again,
                                                                                                                               Modern Mommy

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Apothederm (Week 1)!

If you have ever bore children, gained or lost weight, than you probably have stretch marks. I have them....and they are bad.....Yours would be too if you went from 107 to delivering two large babies...That's right, I delivered two children, whom at birth weighed more than 10 lbs! (Tater tipped the scales at TEN pounds and FIVE ounces and he was the smallest! Princess weighed a whopping TEN pounds TWELVE ounces)!   
Please don't laugh too hard, ladies, it took a lot for me to bare my belly to the bloosphere! (and to answer a few questions: I had my appendix removed. Yes, my belly was pierced. And, I got one of those awful dark lines on my belly during pregnancy)!

 So, understandably, my belly is not a flat or smooth as I would like it to be! When I delivered Princess, I asked the nurses about my stretch marks....and do you know what they called them, Dear Readers? and I quote "The stretch marks from Hell"! Well, not at all what a first time, modern mommy wanted to hear! 
Now that I am done bearing children, I thought now might be the time to get back to sort-of-what I used to be. (There is no magic cream or excersise that is going to make me have a taut tummy of a teenager). 
 But....there is hope! Apothederm is the stretch mark cream with SmartPeptides.   It has for emollients in it: Shea butter, cocoa butter, olive oil and (never heard of until now) meadowfoam seed oil! It is also, fragrance free, paraben free and not tested on animals (they still do that?). 
 I am going to do a few posts about Apothederm, once a week, (as long as the supply I was sent lasts)!
 Allegedly, 70% of users have visiable results in 14 days (applying twice a day). I don't know if Apothederm can compete with the "stretch marks from H*ll", but, I am willing to give it a try! 
 If you would like to try Apothederm, please go to their website: http://apothederm.com/

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Supermarket Smarty!

Correction!!! I am so, so sorry to have misinformed you, Dear Readers! The Supermarket Smarty IS available ins stores. The largest retailer is The Container Store! Have a good day, Readers, and Keep cool! ~ Modern Mommy

Friday, July 22, 2011

Flappy!

We had a visitor today, of the feathered variety! My husband works at a golf course, and because of this (and my husband's belief that every creature he meets must come for a visit) we have had lots of creature company. We have had a garden snake, rabbits, snail (which resides in our fish tank, it's name is Gary), turtle eggs, turtles and most recently, a gosling! 

The first place Flappy visited was the bathroom, where he propmtly got a bath. Then he was dried and sat on some newspaper. He was generally quiet and still, until he decided to take a run around the kitchen. It was hilarious to watch my husband chase this goose! 

 So, todays post is all about our friend... Flappy, the Canadian Goose. Er, gosling. 

 Geese are a big problem for golf courses and they implement all sorts of ways to get rid of them. In recent years, Canada Geese populations in some areas have grown substantially, so much so that many consider them pests (for their droppings, the bacteria in their droppings, noise and confrontational behavior). This problem is partially due to the removal of natural predators and an abundance of safe, man-made bodies of water (such as on golf courses, public parks and beaches, and in planned communities, like developments). 
 Princess really enjoyed having Flappy and was sorry to see him go. (We all were). Having all these creatures visit has been a really great way for the kids and ourselves to learn about all sorts of creatures and their enviroments.
 Flappy is now back home, I'm sure he was relieved to be free. But, we sure did enjoy him here! 
Interested in Canadian Geese? Here is a link that we found helpful: http://www.canadageese.org/coalition.html

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Supermarket Smarty!

Today, my twin and I went grocery shopping, before that though, my Supermarket Smarty showed up in the mail. I was so excited! It is a healthy grocery list organizer. The Supermarket Smarty is a dry erase, grocery list and nutritional guide. This would be a great tool for all you (extreme or not) COUPON CLIPPING Modern Mommys!  
 I am a bit compulsive about neatness and efficiency. And the Smarty helped me achieve that! Everything is organized by types of food: Dairy, Deli, Produce, etc. It has symbols for all sorts of things including nutritional value, whether it is Eco-friendly and if it is wise to have a coupon. There are blank spaces that you may write in. It has this neat lens on the front that you can use to read fine print. There is a pocket for coupons, or receipts or whatever you like. It also comes with a  dry erase meal planner. I love my Supermarket Smarty, it has all the bells and whistles!  
Supermarket Smarty opened up (I tried to get the glare to go away, but I did not succeed) 

 It is a wonderful way to stay organized and efficient, however, I have a few complaints. One, I felt that it was a bit pushy on all the healthy stuff (not everyone in my house is as health conscious as we would like them to be). Also, when I placed the Supermarket Smarty on my fridge, using the magnetic clip,  it kept sliding down....Not sure if the magnet was just weak or if it was the coating on my fridge or what. (Princess did discover, however, that it did stick quite well to the shopping cart)! So, I just placed it above that thing that tells you what brand your fridge is and that kept in place, LOL! 

The Supermarket Smarty on the refrigerator, along with Princess' chore chart.


 When you order, it comes with a dry erase marker and a handy clip that is both magnetic (so you can hang the Smarty right on your fridge) and store the marker in the same place.
 I plan on using mine every time I go shopping!
 The Supermarket Smarty is a great way for us Modern Mommys to stay organized! It is reasonably priced, at $9.99 (USD). Here is the link for the website. Also, Supermarket Smarty IS not available in stores, like The Container Store: http://www.supermarketsmarty.com/

Summer Fun and Followers!

A lot has been going on this week, we just had a guest stay this weekend and now my twin sister is down from where she lives for a two week visit (she had a five hour train ride)!. I found out my cousin is having a boy! 
 We are also in a massive heat wave (as is most of our country). We are trying to stay cool, but, our HOA has an ordinance on how tall your pool is allowed to be. 
 Our local carnival came to town and we just had to go! Princess rode some rides and played some games. Her favorite was a dragon ride, she also enjoyed a slide, a fun house and the merry-go-round. She really wanted to ride the Ferris wheel, but it closed as it started to rain. All in all, we had an awesome time!
 Also, I am up to 90 GFC (Google Friend Connect) Followers! I am so excited, I can not believe how quickly I am gaining followers! Maybe we will have more participants the next time I have a Giveaway! (Look for another one soon)!

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Wordless Wednesday!

Er, as usual, this post is not actually wordless..
                                                                     Here are my....
                                                                                       BOX BABIES!

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Cape Clogs!

First and foremost, I apologize to my friends at Cape Clogs, I made a promise to write a review on the 4th for my super awesome clogs and I did not. I was busy and time got away from me.  
 A lot of you don't know this, but, my absolute favorite symbol or decoration is a star! I just love them!  
 I received the coolest ergonomical, patterned clogs from Cape Clogs! They are white and have multi colored stars. They are so pretty and they were perfect for the Fourth of July!
Stars! Stars! and did I mention...Stars?

(Top view) of my adorble Cape Clogs!
 If you are not used to wearing clogs, they are a bit heavy as they are made from real wood. Cape clogs are are made in Sweden by hand. They are made from alder wood and leather. They are so very comfy!
 The only problem I had with them was finding the right size. Pay close attention to the Size Conversion Chart! 
 I didn't know clogs were still in fashion, but, they are! From the Olsen twins to 902010 star Shanae (I am ashamed to admit this, but, I actually had no idea who she was. Sorry Shanae)! Everyone is rockin' clogs this year!  
 Clogs are a fashionable Modern Mommy must have, if you are thinking of buying, be sure to check out Cape Clogs...They are having an anniversery sale, as the company turns 5 this year!
Link for Cape Clogs: http://capeclogs.com/

Winner of July 4th Giveaway!

Congratulations, Becky! (#2 participant),she is the winner of the Mixbook Photobook!

Friday, July 1, 2011

A Pug's Tale by Alison Pace!

I have not read a book in a while. A LONG while! (So long, Dear Readers, I cannot actually tell you the last time I read a book)! I was sent "A Pug's Tale" by Alison Pace to review. It is a cute and quirky comedy. A mystery epic proportions, not so much (sorry John Grisham fans).
 
 Hope is kind-of, sort-of implicated in the case of the missing Pansies by Henri Fantin-Latour. She sets out to solve the mystery with her ever faithful companion, Max. She is also trying to solve the mystery of her own life, her long distance relationship with her boyfriend, Ben. Ben, a lawyer, is working in far off Kinshasa.
  Left to her own devices in New York's best known museum, Hope and Max set off in an amusing and exciting adventure! A Pug's Tale is a a great read. Exciting, with twists and surprises at every turn (You'll never guess who the culprit is). This tale will definitely keep you entertained, page after page!
(I promise).
  Curl up with this new book by Alison Pace, a dog if you have one (preferably a pug)! A link to Alison: http://www.alisonpace.com